• Kelly Eden

What is Reiki? What is a Chakra and Why Must I Balance It?

60 Minute Usui Reiki Session w/ Crystals

One of the most frequently asked questions I get as a Reiki Master Teacher is, "So, what is Reiki exactly?!". Although, energy healing has become significantly more mainstream as people are searching for natural healing modalities and learning more about spirituality. In short, Reiki is energy healing. It is pronounced 'ray-key' and REI translates to 'universal' and refers to 'source' or 'soul' or 'higher self', whereas KI translates to life force energy. EVERYTHING is made up of energy.

What is REIKI?

REIKI is a laying on of hands for the purpose of healing. The Reiki practitioner upon receiving attunements, acts as a channel of vital universal life force energy. Energy healers are connected to the life energy as attunements clear obstructions and open energy channels. Many physical ailments and symptoms of disease are often manifestations of unresolved emotional blockages. Reiki provides energy healing to clear and balance chakras in the body. When chakras are blocked it increases stress, anxiety, symptoms of depression and symptoms of disease.

The human body has seven main chakras which are energy centres where consciousness and matter meet. Energy, (prana) when allowed to flow freely throughout the body, is what keeps us healthy, peaceful and grounded.

A client who receives Reiki can expect to feel warmth and a lovely tingly sensation during a session. Some may feel an overwhelming sense of calm and may fall asleep! After a treatment it is common to feel relaxed and refreshed, and can assist clients who suffer from insomnia, anxiety, depression, lethargy and an overall feeling of being 'unwell'.

What is a CHAKRA?

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word and translates literally to 'wheel' or 'disk'. Visualize each chakra as a swirling wheel of energy which is where matter (body) meets consciousness (spirit). Chakras correspond to nerve centers in the body and, as it is where mind, body and soul are connected, a blocked chakra negatively effects our emotional, psychological and spiritual well being.

What are the 7 MAIN CHAKRAS?

ROOT CHAKRA (1st Chakra): Located at the base of the spine and responsible for grounding and feeling as though our earthly needs of safety and security are met. An IMBALANCE of the ROOT CHAKRA can cause anxiety disorders, nightmares, insomnia and in men, prostate issues.

SACRAL CHAKRA (2nd Chakra): Located just below the naval and encompasses the genital region. When BALANCED we feel wellness, pleasure, and abundance. When it is IMBALANCED we feel unstable emotionally, depression and are prone to addictions to anesthetize or numb our fears.

SOLAR PLEXUS CHAKRA (3rd Chakra): Located approximately 2 fingers above the naval and up to the breastbone. When BALANCED we feel confidence and able to reach goals and a healthy sense of self-worth. When IMBALANCED we feel anger/control issues, low self-esteem and are indecisive.

HEART CHAKRA (4th Chakra): Located in the middle of the chest. The heart chakra when BALANCED allows us to flow with compassion and love and are easily forgiving of others. We attract healthy love relationships. When IMBALANCED we feel jealousy, grief, anger toward self and others.

THROAT CHAKRA (5th Chakra): Located at the throat but inclusive of thyroid, jaw, mouth, larynx and tongue. When IMBALANCED we are unable to communicate effectively and hold on to acidic thoughts and feelings. When BALANCED we express ourselves from a higher form of communication. We realize our voice matters and deserves to be heard.

THIRD EYE CHAKRA (6th Chakra): Located at the space between the eyebrows but inclusive of the head, eyes, pituitary gland and lower region of the brain. It is the center of intuition. When BALANCED it allows lucid dreaming, psychic connections, and expanded imagination and visualization.

CROWN CHAKRA (7th Chakra): Located at the crown of the head, this chakra is our source of spiritual connection to higher self and source of enlightenment. When BALANCED it allows for the realization we are pure consciousness and are expansive and realize we are part of a greater whole and are all connected by love.

When any of these chakras are blocked it disrupts the natural flow of energy through the body. Implementing regular energy healing sessions is a wonderful (and relaxing) way to maintain that healthy flow and feel a sense of peace and well-being. Namaste.

Kelly Eden

Reiki Master Teacher

Aura Healing Reiki

Canadian Reiki Association


#reiki #energyhealing #aurahealingreiki #chakras #chakrabalancing #healing #crystals

191 views0 comments